Songs for the Struggling Artist


The first dip in the blog pool.
September 15, 2008, 9:38 pm
Filed under: art, Entries with songs attached, music, theatre | Tags: , , ,

I’ve gotten so used to struggle, I even struggled for a long while about what to call this blog. Do I really want to reinforce this notion of artists struggling? And no, I don’t. But really that’s what I’m looking at here. For better or for worse, what’s really UP for me is this struggle that seems attached to being an artist.

I had lunch with an old friend last week, one who has taken a decidedly different path through life than I have. She’s in business now and called herself a “sell-out.” (How horrible! We suffer even when we give up the artist’s life!) This business friend of mine, after hearing about my current troubles, suggested that I start a publication for struggling artists. As she saw it, there are so many of us in the same damn boat, in need of support, and there’s no real place where we can meet and help each other. I don’t think I’m ready to start a magazine or anything but I did really respond to the idea of opening up a forum for us. And not just for those of us who have stayed on our artistic paths over the years but also those who have stepped off of it and those who are about to step on. We’re all in here trying to create our lives creatively. Maybe we should all start a magazine. I’m all for it. I’m just a little busy trying to make 17 other things happen, as, I’m guessing, are most of you.

Anyway, this is my introduction, for myself really – to understand the evolving relationship with the struggle that making a life in the arts seems to be. If any of you have managed to do it without struggle, good god, please share your secrets!

Question of the day:

What have you sacrificed on the altar of Art?

Here’s a song about one of my struggles in this business: Trying

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

