Songs for the Struggling Artist


Going for Broke
October 26, 2008, 10:23 pm
Filed under: dreams, Uncategorized | Tags: ,

The trouble with going for broke is sometimes you end up broke. Our culture has so many stories about the people who risked it all, shot for the stars and went all the way. These are our heroes and I think I have strived to be one of them.

I have a long-standing tendency to go for broke. Fairly regularly,  I’ll stake it all, put all my chips on the table and get on my rocket for the moon. Sometimes, especially in the early years, it worked. Lately, however, going for broke is just breaking me. It’s a hard habit to break, though, this hard-driving going for broke-ness. I don’t really know how to do things any other way. How do I stop going for broke without stopping going altogether?

I have this fierce ambition that gets antsy and impatient whenever we’re not loading up the rocket-ship to the moon. I don’t know how to do things without doing whatever it takes. But it seems like a good thing to learn because “whatever it takes” usually takes quite a lot. Having gone for broke so many times, I’ve gone broke. Having done whatever it takes, it’s all been taken. Having shot for the moon, I’ve ended up shot through. I’m trying now to see what it’s like to not go for broke but go for going or something like that.

This song is kind of exactly this issue:  Trying

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

