Songs for the Struggling Artist


Time Travel for Artists
July 29, 2013, 8:59 pm
Filed under: art, business, dreams, education, theatre | Tags: ,

When I asked what I could do for him, he suggested I go back in time to his nine year old self and “Explain things to him.” He was thinking that if he hadn’t chosen music, he wouldn’t have ended up where he is now. And nine is apparently where it started for him.
It was around then that I became an artist too and I understand the impulse to divert the streams of time. I don’t know if you’ve seen these ads. They’re meant to be funny, I think. They’re supposed to warn kids off the arts in a ploy to encourage them. But a part of me takes those ads very seriously because I’ve seen art destroy many many lives. Not the way drugs or alcohol would (that’s why the ads are amusing.) But still, on the days that poverty and hopelessness seem the only end, it feels like art is just as dangerous.
Would I go back in time and find a way to keep my nine year old self from falling in love with theatre? I’m not sure. Would I go back in time and find a way to keep his nine year old self from falling in love with music? Not a chance.
Because as miserable as an artist’s struggle can be, it is the music in him that I love. Who would he be if he’d fallen in love with something practical? If my time machine somehow kept him from music and funneled him to electrical engineering, would he be the person he is?
Ultimately, if I had a time machine, I don’t think it would even be possible to divert the streams of an artist. If you took theatre from me, I’d have turned to music, if there were no music, I’d have turned to writing, if there were no words, I’d have turned to drawing, if there were no drawing, I’d have turned to dance and if there were none of these things, I’m not sure I’d want to live in that world. I know I wouldn’t actually.
I mean, heck, if I had a time machine, I wouldn’t use it to crush a young person’s artistic dreams. I can’t even do that in real time with the young people I actually teach.
No, if I had a time machine I think I would just become a Time Bandit and find a way to secretly fund the struggling artists I love. You know, the way Time Traveler’s do.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

