Songs for the Struggling Artist


A Rejection and a Non-Rejection Rejection
November 16, 2014, 10:42 pm
Filed under: Rejections, theatre, writing | Tags: , ,

Recently, I received a rejection email from a writer’s development program that I forgot I’d applied to. This happens periodically where I apply to something and immediately forget it, only to be reminded of it many many months later by a rejection notice.

I’m of two minds about these. Sometimes I wish they didn’t even inform me at all – like, if I just submitted and forgot about it, I would never need to feel the rejection. But then – there’s no way for them to know that I’m not siting by my inbox with bated breath, waiting for their judgment. So of course, they have to notify everyone.

Then, too, sometimes I don’t get a notification and that sucks, too. I applied for a Workspace Grant through LMCC earlier this year and I was actually very keen on the idea of receiving it. I did, periodically, wonder where the notification might be.

Then, the same day that I got that writing development group’s rejection email, I received a generic mailing list email from LMCC talking about how awesome the Workspace program was and it listed all the people who received it this year – and surprise! I was not on it. I read it and said to myself, “Oh, I guess I didn’t get that grant then.” That advertisement was my notification, I guess.

So – here’s me – having two completely contradictory rejection experiences all rolled up in one. One – a rejection from a group I wouldn’t have minded not hearing from and one – a non-rejection rejection from an organization I was disappointed NOT to have heard from.

I guess the short version of this is that it rejection still sucks – no matter how it shows up or doesn’t.

envelope-28110_1280

You can help take the sting out of rejections by becoming my patron on Patreon.

 kaGh5_patreon_name_and_message

Click HERE  to Check out my Patreon Page

And click on the Follow Button on the left to receive posts in your inbox!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

