Songs for the Struggling Artist


‘Tis the Season for Rejections
December 28, 2014, 2:54 pm
Filed under: Rejections | Tags: ,

Sorry folks. I told you I’d post a less depressing blog next and I fully planned on sharing something more uplifting after the great rejection deluge earlier this month. However, the fates intervened and saw fit to go ahead and deliver me another rejection notice. And this one really got me.

I totally thought I had this one. I was one out of two artists up for a residency in a senior center. The folks at the center told me they loved my project proposal. I’m ridiculously experienced in working both with the subject and with the population. They were going to get me to do something I usually do for at least twice the money. I really couldn’t’ imagine how anyone could say no this time. But they did.

I don’t know what to say about it except, “What the?!?” and remind myself of my previous post about being a dissident. The program is city government supported. It’s right at the center of cultural approval and while I’d like the finding and to be able to do the project, I suppose I can comfort myself with the idea that this keeps me a free agent. I think of John Clancy’s post about embracing being an Independent Artist. So I’m still safely on the margins of independence.

But whatever I tell myself to feel better about it, I was pretty upset about it when it came through. I don’t fill out all these tedious applications to NOT get them. But – at least I have a cheering section. And I know my cheering section would totally have given me the grant/residency if you guys ran a senior center. Happy Holidays to everyone. You’re better than all the acceptance letters.

You can join the cheering section here:

 kaGh5_patreon_name_and_message

Click HERE  to Check out my Patreon Page

And click on the Follow Button on the left to receive posts in your inbox!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

