Songs for the Struggling Artist


When One Door Closes. . .
March 3, 2015, 12:01 am
Filed under: Rejections | Tags: , ,

I’m not really a “when one door closes another door opens” sort of person. When you’ve seen as many closed doors as I have, experience says such a thing cannot possibly true. Although, perhaps “For every 35 closed doors, one door opens.” That could be true.

If you’ve been following my recent series on rejections, you’ll know that I’ve had a run of closed doors for the last six months or so – many of which are documented. And then, completely out of the blue, a door opened and from the same building where one had previously closed.

A couple of months ago I had a particularly surprising rejection notice for a program to work in a senior center – one I really expected to get. The senior center, choosing between two artists, chose the other one.

But then, two months later, I got a phone call from a different senior center who’d gotten ahold of my application and now want me to come do the program I proposed there. It turns out that this senior center will be a much better match for a lot of reasons – not the least of which is that they seem to understand the value of what I’m offering.

The details aren’t finalized yet so I’m not counting on this being a GO yet but I’m struck by the way suddenly seeing an open door FEELS after such a long run of closed ones. It’s like a dog who’s been in the house all day, waiting for something to open.

dog-in a window

 

 

You can open some more doors by supporting me on Patreon.

 kaGh5_patreon_name_and_message

Click HERE  to Check out my Patreon Page

And click on the Follow Button on the left to receive posts in your inbox

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

