Songs for the Struggling Artist


Residency Rejection
April 30, 2015, 10:12 pm
Filed under: Rejections | Tags: ,

I don’t mind the rejections so much when the application is simple, free and doesn’t ask a lot of me. If I can apply in half an hour, it’s a relatively painless attempt and so when I don’t get it, as just happened with the application to a writing residency, it barely bothers me. I applied to this same residency last year and it was just no skin off my nose to reapply and the sting of rejection is next to nothing. There are many other residencies I’d rather go to but I’ll keep applying to this one, too – because it’s so easy.

Basically there’s a direct connection between how much effort it takes to apply for a thing and how disappointed I am not to get it. Grants are killers that way because they are EPIC amounts of work and rarely come through.

If there were an application where I just clicked a box saying I was applying – that rejection letter would be the least painful imaginable, even if it were something I desperately wanted.

I think. I can’t know, though – because I have NEVER seen an application like that.

check-mark-303498_1280

 

Want to be a part of this amazing team of people who support me through all these rejection notices?

 kaGh5_patreon_name_and_message

Click HERE  to Check out my Patreon Page

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

