Songs for the Struggling Artist


Now THAT’S a Rejection Letter
June 24, 2015, 12:06 am
Filed under: Rejections | Tags:

The foundation was created as a tribute to their daughter. The application was relatively simple and easily submitted. The rejection email I got was almost not even a rejection.

It was personal, warm and it suggested I reapply next season. The rejection was so soft, I almost feel like I got accepted. There was not even a hint of a sting in this rejection.

Partly why it’s so remarkable is that it clearly came from a human being who clearly read what I submitted and had a response to it. It was so human, I think even if it had been a straight up, “We’ll never fund you,” it would likely still have felt relatively painless.

Even though every single thing we ever apply to is full of humans and every rejection is actually from a person or people, it rarely feels that way. So many foundations work extra hard to appear business-like and formal – to obscure that a panel of people read the thing and those people said no. So I find it somewhat comical that for me, seeing the people behind the decisions actually makes it less painful.

It’s a funny old world of applying for things – full of funny old people – even if we never really see them.

letter-761653_1280

You can support me every time I post by becoming a patron on Patreon.

 kaGh5_patreon_name_and_message

Click HERE  to Check out my Patreon Page

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

