Songs for the Struggling Artist


Rejection for a fiction fellowship
July 22, 2015, 10:52 pm
Filed under: Rejections | Tags: , ,

I applied for a fiction fellowship. I knew I wouldn’t get it. I mean, I’m such a newbie to fiction writing; It would have been a little insulting to all those people who’ve spent decades identifying as fiction writers if suddenly a playwright/blogger threw her hat in the fiction ring – if she went, “How ’bout this?” And won a fellowship. It would definitely have been a surprise upset.

But – even though I don’t really identify as a fiction writer, I have to acknowledge that I’ve been writing fiction almost every day for the past few years. So, by virtue of how I actually spend my time, I’m a writer of fiction. I may feel as though I’m a theatre maker dabbling in fiction but I actually spend more hours writing fiction than I do making theatre. So you never know. So I applied anyway. Because you never know. And now that I’ve been rejected as a fiction writer, I can apply next time as a playwright.

leave-839225_1280

 

 

You can help me keep writing by becoming a patron on Patreon.

 kaGh5_patreon_name_and_message

Click HERE  to Check out my Patreon Page

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

