Songs for the Struggling Artist


Rejection from Sundance (and special bonus rejection!)
November 28, 2015, 8:02 pm
Filed under: Rejections | Tags: , , , , , ,

When I got rejected from the Sundance Play Development Lab, they sent me two emails. The first was a general rejection and the second quoted the name of my play. I guess they felt like they need to make double clear that I knew I was rejected.

Not that I expected to get this one anyway. As my boyfriend put it, “Your odds for that particular program would be a lot better if your name was Tom Hanks.”

I guess for someone like Tom Hanks, the $35 application fee is a little less onerous, so the $28,000 they made from the 800 applicants doesn’t maybe feel so bad to the people asking for it. And I suppose, if they are courting celebrities, then the $35 makes sense as a deterrent for us non-celebrity writers.

Question is – what will the (well-funded) Sundance Lab DO with that extra $28,000? Take all the celebrities out for caviar at the end of the season?

caviar-389065_1280

PS – In other rejection news:
It’s a No from a neighborhood association to perform our outdoor mask shows in their public space

I guess I’m starting to understand why so few other people do mask performance in NYC. Seems like there isn’t a market for it. Not even in a freaking parking lot.

PPS – update on this previously written Rejection post:

We did do a mask show at International High School at Laguardia this week (through the generosity of the Emily List Fund) and the students loved it and all their messages ask when we’re coming back. So – it may just be a matter of people not KNOWING that they want to see this stuff.

HamletforHoliday

#VerySeriousTheatre photo by Alexandra Foley

*Wondering why I’m telling you about all these rejections? Read my initial post about this here and my patron’s idea about that here.

You can help me weather the storms of rejection by becoming my patron on Patreon.

 kaGh5_patreon_name_and_message

Click HERE  to Check out my Patreon Page

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

