Songs for the Struggling Artist


The Best Time to Post
January 7, 2016, 9:38 pm
Filed under: Social Media | Tags: , , , , , ,

My blog generally gets about 4 or 5 views right out of the gate when I post on Word Press – which simultaneously posts to Twitter. Night or day it’s about the same. Those view go up when I post that blog to Facebook. That’s where I usually get between 25 to 50 views – which is where I generally max out on a post. These numbers are actually bigger than they appear. WordPress doesn’t count views that happen in peoples’ emails or RSS feeds, for example.
I looked up when the best time to post was – and believe you me, in this age when everyone is promoting SOMETHING via social media – there are dozens of articles on this topic. The consensus was that the best time to post was generally Thursday and Friday after lunch. The reason was that views spiked then because people were more inclined to mess around on the Internet as the week winds down. The idea here being that you’re reaching people in their offices at an attention vulnerable moment. I tried posting at those times and it made absolutely no difference.

I’ve also tried posting blogs I wasn’t so sure I wanted to promote at non optimal times – and saw my views rise slightly. The analysis of optimal times is clearly bananas.

But perhaps only bananas when it comes to my posting. These analyses are clearly predicated on an assumption of some things. 1) It assumes your readers are in an office at work 9 to 5 2) It assumes your readers are in the same country, and not even just the same country but the same time zone as well. And probably for some businesses, this may be accurate – but for people who live freelance lives and talk about things of international interest to people around the world – well, it’s always after lunch somewhere, sometime. And those of us who live a freelance life – we are just as likely to be working (or avoiding work) at 11pm as we are at 2pm. I’m coming to the conclusion that there is no real optimum time to post and only a handful of non-optimum times (Saturday morning. Saturday afternoon. Maybe even Saturday night. Skip Saturdays in general. Unless it’s raining ALL OVER THE WORLD.)

I’m not a great promoter of myself. Posting a blog over on Facebook is about the extent of what I’m willing to do self-promotion wise so I want to do it when it will hit – but I’ve realized that it’s a little like throwing a stick in a river, you can’t really control where it will go. It might get hung up on a rock and never go anywhere or it could get caught in a current and speed far away from you. Unless it’s a sunny Saturday and then it’s pretty good odds it’s going nowhere.

blog-970723_1280

You can help make a difference for me by becoming my patron on Patreon.
kaGh5_patreon_name_and_message

Click HERE  to Check out my Patreon Page

*

This blog is also a Podcast. To hear it read to you (along with some other stuff) click here.

Writing on the internet is a little bit like busking on the street. This is the part where I pass the hat. If you liked the blog and would like to give a dollar (or more!) put it in the PayPal digital hat.  https://www.paypal.me/strugglingartist

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

