Songs for the Struggling Artist


Rejection Update: Awards Named After People
July 24, 2016, 9:58 pm
Filed under: Rejections | Tags: , ,

I don’t think I’d want a scholarship or award named after me. At least not one that people have to apply for.

I just got rejected from one of these – and have been rejected from it many times before – and when I got my rejection letter, I confess to swearing a bit at the letter. Like, if, theoretically the award was called the Frankenfurter Award (it’s not), I’d be like, (And please cover your ears for the next few lines if you’re sensitive to swearing) “Goddamn it, Frankenfurter! Screw you!” or “Oh, the fucking Frankenfurter Award didn’t fucking go to me again. The Fucking Frankfurter can go fuck itself.”

So – I’m not sure it’s such a great honor to have a scholarship or award named after someone. One person a year benefits from Frankenfurter and loves Frankenfurter and thinks Frankenfurter is the best thing ever but at least a THOUSAND people a year REALLY resent Frankenfurter and feel like they wasted their goddamn time again.

sausages-in-a-dressing-gown-1405207_1280

*Wondering why I’m telling you about all these rejections? Read my initial post about this here and my patron’s idea about that here.

You can help me weather the storms of rejection by becoming my patron on Patreon.

 kaGh5_patreon_name_and_message

Click HERE  to Check out my Patreon Page

*

Writing on the internet is a little bit like busking on the street. This is the part where I pass the hat. If you liked the blog and would like to give a dollar (or more!) put it in the PayPal digital hat. https://www.paypal.me/strugglingartist

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

