Songs for the Struggling Artist


Cool Rejection and a Job
July 31, 2016, 6:11 pm
Filed under: Rejections | Tags: , , ,

Cool Rejection First:

There’s a “cool” theatre space that does “cool” shows in the city. We rehearsed in the theatre for our first show back in 2001 – before it became the “cool” space. And that’s the last time we were there, except as audience.

Over the years, I’ve applied there for many things – performance slots, festivals, development processes and have never once been accepted. I’m not surprised. I recognize that “cool’ people aren’t necessarily my audience, being not particularly “cool” myself. I mean, I’m cool. No doubt. But I care about stuff a little bit too much to be “cool.”

This year, though, they were doing a festival that a show I’ve been trying to promote would have fit quite easily into – so I went ahead and gave it another shot. Cool or not.

We didn’t get it.
I’m not shocked.

*
And, now –  two, two rejection posts for the prices of one!

*

University of Cincinnati Rejection

You guys. I do not remember applying for this job. It must have had some really exciting aspects – like maybe it was a Devising position or a Shakespeare one – or I don’t remember. But I do know it must have had some good qualities because I don’t PARTICULARLY want to move to Cincinnati.

Though now that I think of it, I do remember thinking that Cincinnati might not be so bad. A whole bunch of folks I knew moved there right after college – started a theatre company there and were generally cool. I think some of them are still there. I think I may have even done a little search-a-roo to see if there were enough arts in town to make it live-able. It must have been that there were. And if I’d gotten an interview for this gig, I’d have gone – because it can’t hurt to explore these kinds of possibilities.

But – luckily, I don’t have to worry about it. For the forseeable future, I will be here in unaffordable sweetly exhausting NYC, which, of course, I love – even when I hate it.

raspberries-1494081_1280*Wondering why I’m telling you about all these rejections? Read my initial post about this here and my patron’s idea about that here.

You can help me weather the storms of rejection by becoming my patron on Patreon.

 kaGh5_patreon_name_and_message

Click HERE  to Check out my Patreon Page

*

Writing on the internet is a little bit like busking on the street. This is the part where I pass the hat. If you liked the blog and would like to give a dollar (or more!) put it in the PayPal digital hat. https://www.paypal.me/strugglingartist

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

