Songs for the Struggling Artist


Fortune Favors the Bold and It ALSO likes to Watch the Bold Fall on Its Face
April 26, 2019, 10:29 pm
Filed under: art, clown | Tags: , , , , ,

I’ve been brave this week. I stepped WAAAAAAY out of my comfort zone and took a series of risks. This is not unprecedented. I have, over the course of my artist life, taken quite a few giant leaps.

Wherever I do it, I try to psyche myself up with such platitudes as “Fortune favors the bold.” I tell myself, “Good things come to those who risk.” But even though these ideas help me to take the risk, they have rarely been true.

I have been brave more times than I can count and the results have been mixed at best. In fact, if I’m truthful, 9 out of every 10 brave attempts have resulted in failure. If these were parachute jumps, I would certainly be dead. Luckily, the ways I choose to be brave are more like – moving to a city with no job, no prospects or guarantees, talking to a famous person, applying for things I am unlikely to get or going to expensive conferences where I don’t know anyone. My risks are mostly risks of my dignity or security.

And when I fall on my face it does not feel good, I will admit. I fall down a lot and it hurts every time. But. I do have quite a bit of clown training and I know how to fail. I know that failure feels bad but can sometimes generate the most authentic interesting moments.

I would LIKE for Fortune to favor me at some point but meanwhile, I am fully prepared for a complete and total face plant every time I attempt to be bold.

This post was brought to you by my generous patrons on Patreon.

They also bring you the podcast version of the blog.

You can find the podcast on iTunes, Stitcher, Spotify or wherever you get your podcasts.

screen-shot-2017-01-10-at-1-33-28-am

Every podcast features a song at the end. Some of those songs are on Spotify, my websiteReverbNation, Deezer and iTunes

*

Want to help me recover from all my attempts at boldness?

Become my patron on Patreon.

Click HERE to Check out my Patreon Page

*

If you liked the blog (but aren’t into the commitment of Patreon) and would like to give a dollar (or more!) put it in the PayPal digital hat. https://www.paypal.me/strugglingartist

Or buy me a coffee on Kofi – ko-fi.com/emilyrainbowdavis


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



I'd love to hear from you. Gentleness and kindness encouraged and appreciated.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.